Present Alaafin of Oyo has Ruled with Nine Olubadans (See Full List)

The present Alaafin of Oyo, Oba Lamidi Adeyemi III has ruled with nine Olubadans of Ibadanland.

Oba Adeyemi was born on October 15, 1938 into the Alowolodu Royal House, and as a member of the House of Oranmiyan to Raji Adeniran Adeyemi (born 1871), who later became Alaafin in 1945, and Ibironke of Epo-Gingin, who died when he was young.

Lamidi Adeyemi succeeded Alaafin Gbadegesin Ladigbolu II in 1970, during the governorship of Colonel Robert Adeyinka Adebayo, after the end of the Nigerian Civil War.

See also  Peace Busari Arrives Nigeria From Lebanon With 28 Other Trafficked Victims

As at the time Oba Adeyemi III ascended the throne, Oba Salawu Akanni was the Olubadan of Ibadanland. He died in 1971, a year after Oba Adeyemi became the Alaafin of Oyo.

Since then, there have been 8 other Olubadans including Oba Saliu Akanmu Adetunji, Aje Ogungunniso I.

Here is the full list of the Olubadans since Oba Adeyemi’s coronation:

See also  PHOTOS: Mentally-ill woman Gives Birth to Baby Boy In Ibadan

Oba Salawu Akanni Aminu 1965–1971
Oba Shittu Akintola Oyetunde II 1971–1976
Oba Gbadamosi Akanbi Adebimpe 1976–1977
Oba Daniel ‘Tayo Akinbiyi 1977–1982
Oba Yesufu Oloyede Asanike I 1982–1994
Oba Emmanuel Adegboyega Operinde I 1994–1999
Oba Yunusa Ogundipe Arapasowu I 1999–2007
Oba Samuel Odulana Odugade I 2007–2016
Oba Saliu Akanmu Adetunji 2016–2022


About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

1 Comment

Click here to post a comment