2023: Oyo AD Collapses Party Structure, Merges With PDP

The Oyo State Alliance for Democracy (AD) party have collapsed its party structure across the 33 local government areas into the ruling Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

AD, an offshoot of the Action Group of the late political sage, Late Chief Obafemi Awolowo also moved its members into the PDP in Oyo State, following how they described Makinde’s leadership as a replica of Late Awolowo’s style and approach to governance.

The National Leader of AD, Honourable Babs Oduyoye, who is a former member of the Federal House of Representatives and Hon Tunde Tijani, leader of the party in the state, led the AD leadership and members into PDP in the state in a less ceremonial event attended by the Oyo State PDP Chairman, Hon Dayo Ogungbenro, State Secretary of PDP, Alh. Wasiu Adeleke, State Youth Leader of PDP, Hon Ogunsina Oluwaseun Micheal, PDP State Women Leader, Alhaja Wunmi Omobayonle Ibitoye and PDP State PRO, Engr. Akeem Olatunji II, in Ibadan last week.

The Oyo State Publicity Secretary of PDP, Akeem Olatunji who made the disclosure in a press release on Friday August 12, disclosed names of the AD leadership as; Hon Babs Oduyoye (National Leader), Barrister Tunde Tijani (State leader), Dr Akin Oligbinde SAN (Former State Leader).

See also  Why Ajimobi Family is Angry With Governor Seyi Makinde.

Others are Pastor Akinade Alamu (State Chairman), Hon Badmus Rashid Adebayo (State Secretary), Comrade Kunle Fajenbola (State Publicity Secretary), Mrs. Akande (State Women Leader), Mr. Tunde Oyedeji (Admin officer), Mr. Adigun (State Youth Leader), Alhaji Hamid Tijani (Kisi Leader), Mr. Olugbele (Iseyin LG chairman), Mrs. Laide (Oluyole LG Women Leader), Rev. Oyebanji (Ogbomosho LG Chairman), Mr. Taiwo (Atisbo LG Chairman) and others.

In the meantime, the ruling PDP in the state also stated that the AD has in addition to the collapse of its party structure, released its assets which include State Party Secretariat, furnitures, party buses and vehicles and other facilities as donations to ensure ‘Seyi Makinde wins for second term of office.

The AD leadership stated, “Following the unprecedented landmark achievements of His Excellency, Governor ‘Seyi Makinde within three years in office, a political party founded by Late Chief Obafemi Awolowo disciples like Late Pa Adesanya, late Chief Bola Ige, Pa Adebanjo and others, the Alliance for Democracy (AD) has collapsed its entire party structure in Oyo State into PDP.

“This is indeed democracy at play because it is a rebirth of the baba Awolowo political era where against all odds, our political leader, after many decades has genuinely returned government to the people who are the real owners of the mandate”, he added.

See also  Lanlehin Dissociates Self From Akintola's Outburst, Says They Are Fabrication of Facts

Responding to the move, the ruling PDP stated: “The practice of democracy and delivery of good governance is not about politicians deceitfully professing to be progressive by mouth and very retrogressive by deeds and actions, or going about in baba Awolowo’s style of outfits or style of his signature cap but by genuinely emulating them in deeds and conducts as founding fathers of our democratic system.

“It is indeed a thing of joy, honour and pride that the AD has finally fussed up into our great party in Oyo State and that is an attestation to the Makinde’s delivery of good governance and spreading happiness across the state regardless of your tribe or religion.

“Our new brothers and sisters from the AD are assured of equal rights and opportunities at both party and government levels because in PDP it is always about fairness and justice for all. So, we welcome them into our fold with open arms and together we shall make Oyo State greater”, the party added.

See also  Breaking: Debo Ogundoyin Returns as Speaker Of Oyo State House of Assembly

Recently, top members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ibadan zone also defected into the PDP following what they described as Makinde’s sterling performance within only three years in office and the pedigree of PDP Oyo South Senatorial Candidate, Mogaji Joseph Tegbe.

Prominent among the APC defectors who recently joined PDP are aides of Late Governor Ajimobi; Alh Dọtun Olaoye, ACP Kunle Aro-Fadaka rtd. (SSA Security) , Dr Wale Sadiq (SSA Media), Deaconess Esther Adedokun (SSA Political), Hon G. Latunji, Kayode Bamiduro (SA Political), Hon Sola Adegoke, Alh Yisau Azeez, Engr Olubayo Kuye, Hon Kayode Adeosun, Hon Alabi Aderibigbe, Hon Adebayo Adegoke (former Chairman IB North LG).

Meanwhile, Personal Assistant to former Oyo State Governor, Late Adebayo Alao Akala, Hon. Oladokun Julius and a Leader of APC in Akinyele local government, Prince Akiije have led their large political followers and supporters into the PDP.

The defectors were received into the PDP last week by the Oyo Central Senatorial Candidate, Chief Oyebisi Ilaka and other party leaders.

Others who also defected from the APC into PDP include Mr Olatunji Lekan, Hon Olusola Akeem, among others.


About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment