EFCC Secures Conviction of 17 Internet Fraudsters in Oyo, Ogun

The Ibadan Zonal Command of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC has secured the conviction and sentencing of 17 internet fraudsters before Justices Bayo Taiwo, Ladoke Akintola, and Mohammed Owolabi of the State High Court, Ibadan, Oyo State and Justice Mosunmola Dipeolu of Ogun State High Court, Abeokuta, on a separate one-count charge each.

A statement by the Head of Media & Publicity of the commission, Wilson Uwujaren, said the jail terms range from two to nine months of community service, and one year in prison.

The convicts, according to Uwujaren, are Oduola Kunmi Ireola, Igbamidun Joshua Olamiposi, Ismael Fatai Olatunji, Osundele Oladapo Daniel, Olawale Isaac Adeleke, Olorunyomi Idowu Babatunde, Aneh Ojonimi, Olaide lyanuoluwa Sadare, Akintola Babatunde Rasheed, Jamiu Babatunde Salam, Aluko Abayomi Oluwadamilare, Bello Ridwan Ayobami, Maleek Michael Ibrahim, Arasi Oluwaseun Tobi, Ganiu Fawaz Olalekan, Bello Ayoinde Olamilekan, and Abiodun Taiwo Kareem.

See also  PMS Resists Move by NURTW to Resume Activities in Oyo State, Says It is Illegal

They all pleaded ‘guilty’ to the one-count charge filed against each one of them by the EFCC.

Consequently, prosecution counsel, Modupe Akinkoye, Oyelakin Oyediran, Oluwatoyin Owodunni, Musa Galadanchi, Abdulrasheed Suleiman, Mabas Mabur, and Samsudeen Bashir reviewed the facts of the cases and urged the courts to convict and sentence the defendants as charged.

See also  ANALYSIS: Coronavirus Spreads To Oyo, Oke Ogun – See LGAs And Number Of Cases In Oyo State

Osundele was convicted and sentenced to one-year imprisonment while Arasi, Ganiu, and Ibrahim bagged nine months of jail term each.

Similarly, Akintola was convicted and sentenced to nine months of community service, Oduola, Jamiu, Aluko, and Bello to six months of community service each while Igbamidun and Kareem bagged five months of community service each.

Furthermore, Olatunji was convicted and sentenced to four months of community service, Ayorinde to two months of community service while Olorunyomi, Ojonimi, Sadare were convicted and fined N100,000.00 (One Hundred Thousand Naira) each, and Adeleke to N150,000 .00 (One Hundred and Fifty Thousand Naira) fine.

See also  Oyo Assembly Okays Oyeleke As Ayoola’s Successor

Justice Bayo Taiwo ordered that Osundele Oladapo Daniel pay the sum of $16,671. 00USD in restitution and forfeit one white Toyota Venza car worth N7 million to the Federal Government of Nigeria.

In the meantime, other convicts were also ordered to restitute their victims and forfeit all items recovered from them to the government.

About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment