Former Oyo APC Chairman, Oke Breaks Silence, Releases List of Exco Committee Members

Sequel to the controversies surrounding the emergence of new executive committee members in Oyo APC, Chief Akin Oke, the immediate past caretaker chairman of the All Progressives Congress in Oyo state has opened up on the state of things in the party, while calling for calm among party faithful and supporters.

With the crisis trailing Mr. Ajiboye Omodewu’s inauguration as the state party chairman, Chief Oke in a statement issued and made available to newsmen today in Ibadan, claimed it was time he broke his silence in view of unfounded rumours and misrepresentation of facts making the rounds over the management of the lists generated by various stakeholders at ward and local government levels, in conformity with the directives on consensus option as the basis for nomination of executive members.

He said, “In all honesty, my main goal is to enjoy my private life after serving the Progressive family for more than six decades and this implies that I am not going to remain in the saddle as the party chairman beyond this moment for any reason. However, I owe an average member of the party the duty of leaving behind a legacy one can be proud of. We maintain that all we submitted to various Congress committees that came to the state were the lists received from relevant stakeholders at that time and the fact was established that no other list was submitted by any other person or group”.

See also  You Lack Royal Etiquette – Olubadan Threatens Estranged High Chiefs With Banishment

Oke disclosed that names of the agreed LG chairmen list are as follows; Gbade Adeyemi (Afijio), Adelowo Ademola (Atiba), Yunusa Kareem (Oyo East), Michael Awolola (Oyo West), Adekunle Ademola (Ibarapa Central), Olusegun Ojediran (Ibarapa East), Adetunji Omolewu (Ibarapa North), Kamardeen Salau (Ogbomoso South), Raimi Aremu (Ogbomoso North), Ayuba Lukman (Oriire), Kazeem Alao (Ogo-Oluwa), Isaac Aremu (Surulere), Emmanuel Akinbode (Akinyele), Ibrahim Animasaun-Agbedo (Egbeda), Adesina Adeagbo (Ona-Ara), Waheed Akinleye (Oluyole), Akeeb Alarape (Ido), Fatai Awoyoola (Lagelu), Taofeek Olayiwola (Ibadan North), Jelili Asukuna (Ibadan North West), Wahab Adebisi (Ibadan North East), Jelili Asukuna (Ibadan North West), Muyiwa Adebiyi (Ibadan South East), Sunday Babalola (Ibadan South West), Anthony Ogunleke (Iseyin), Moshood Oluokun (Iwajowa), Jacob Siyanbade (Kajola), Sikirullahi Osuolale (Itesiwaju), Sulaimon Aderogba (Oorelope), Yekinni Awoyake (Irepo), Aremu Oluwasegun William (Olorunsogo), Abel Okeyoyin (Atisbo), Afolabi Fatokun (Saki East) and Idris Ogundiya (Saki West).

See also  Police Parade Suspected Kidnappers of Ex-Governor Akala’s Farm Worker, Others in Ibadan

He also released the harmonised list of State Executive Committee members endorsed and submitted by zonal leaders at the residence of former governor, Late Otunba Adebayo Alao-Akala.

They are; Adejare Gbadamosi (State Chairman), Moshood Abas (Deputy Chairman), Tajudeen Olanite (State Secretary), Omolola Odekunbi (State Woman Leader), Richard Oluseyi (State Youth Leader), Alaba Bolarinwa (Assistant Secretary), Taiwo Moteleola (Welfare Secretary), Lekan Busari (Treasurer), Wasiu Sadare (Publicity Secretary), Lukman Anwo (Auditor), Kamaldeen Nageri (Financial Secretary), Mathew Adeyemo (Organising Secretary), Wahab Alade (Legal Adviser), Dele Ladapo (Leader, Special Persons), Olalekan Adeyemo (Oyo Central Senatorial Leader), Tunde Oloyede (Oyo North Senatorial Leader) and Najimudeen Abass (Oyo South Senatorial Leader).

 Others include: Rafiu Oke (Deputy Youth Leader), Sakirat Balogun (Oyo South Senatorial Woman Leader), Akeem Abimbola (Ex-Officio 2), Rasheed Ogunbiyi (Senatorial Youth Leader, Oyo South), Oye Akinrinade (Asst. Legal Adviser), Olalekan Esho (Ex-Officio 1), Muritala Ahmed (Asst. Organising Secretary), Mukaila Shittu (Asst. Publicity Secretary), Adepoju Aderemi (Asst. Auditor), Beatrice Odunola (Senatorial Woman Leader, Oyo Central), John Oyetunji (Ex-Officio 4), Julius Adegbola (Asst. Financial Secretary), Akin Akinwale (Senatorial Youth Leader, Oyo Central), Sikiru Adedeji (Senatorial Youth Leader, Oyo North), Julius Adegbola (Asst. Financial Secretary), Muyiwa Adeniran (Asst. Welfare Secretary), Rihanat Salam (Senatorial Woman Leader, Oyo North), Dauda Saliu Ajana (Ex-Officio 1), Mariam Azeez (Deputy State Woman Leader) and Assistant Treasurer (nomination yet to be made).

See also  Fuel subsidy removal necessary to avert financial crisis – Tinubu

Oke also used the medium to appeal to the national leadership of the party, to consider treating Oyo APC issue the same way with those of Kano and Sokoto states where more time have been devoted to resolving the lingering intra-party crisis for true and genuine reconciliation to take place.

He also urged members to remain calm and optimistic while they eschew divisive tendencies.

“We must avoid confrontation and violence because we all remain members of the same family and our collective goal should be victory in 2023.” The statement concluded.


About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment