Kano Govt Appoints Olubadan as Chancellor of Sa’adatu Rimi Varsity

The appointment of Olubadan of Ibadanland, Oba Moshood Aliiwo as the Chancellor of the state-owned Sa’adatu Rimi University of Education, Kumbotso has been approved by the Kano State Executive Council.

This was announced by the Commissioner for Information and Internal Affairs in the state, Mallam Muhammad Garba after the council’s meeting held at the Council Chambers, Government House, Kano.

Garba, who stated that the council also approved the appointment of Prof. Attahiru Jega, former INEC chairman as Pro-Chancellor/Chairman of the governing council, said that this followed the receipt of operational licence from the National Universities Commission (NUC), which recognised the institution as the 61st State University and 222nd University in the Nigerian University System.

See also  JUST IN: ASUU Extends Strike by 3 Months

Other members of the council are Dr Muhammad Kwankwaso, Hajiya Zulaiha Ahmed, Dr Ibrahim Wunti, Dr Halima Muhammad and Alhaji Sabi’u Bako.

He said the appointment is in accordance with Part III Section 22 of the Sa’adatu Rimi University of Education, Kumbotso Law which states that: “There shall be a council which shall be the governing body of the university”.

See also  Oyo State Govt Reopen Schools, Observe COVID-19 guidelines

Similarly, Sections I, II and III of the second schedule of the law provide that, “The visitor, Dr Abdullahi Ganduje shall appoint the Chancellor, Pro chancellor/Chairman of the council and external members of the council.”

The commissioner added that in line with Section 3(2) of the second schedule, the Pro Chancellor and External council members shall hold office for a period of four years, renewable for a second and final tenure of another four years.

See also  JAMB Announces Date for 2022 UTME, DE Registration

In the meantime, Garba has listed other appointees as Prof. Isa Bunkure, Provost Sa’adatu Rimi College of Education (SRCOE), Kumbotso, Vice Chancellor, Sa’adatu Rimi University of Education; Dr Kabiru Gwarzo, Deputy Provost (Academics) SRCOE, Kumbotso, Deputy Vice Chancellor; Dr Miswaru Bello, Deputy Provost (Administration), SRCOE, Kumbotso, Deputy Vice Chancellor; Saminu Bello Zubairu, Registrar, SRCOE, Kumbotso, Registrar; Ibrahim Yahaya, Bursar, SRCOE, Kumbotso, Bursar and Mabruka Abubakar Abba, College Librarian, SRCOE, Librarian.

About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment