Kogi 2019: Splash FM Journalists Attacked In Ayetoro, Car Damaged

Some journalists who are covering the governorship election in Ayetoro area of Kogi State were attacked by some youths after thugs ran off with ballot boxes at Ward 01, Unit 004, where Dino Melaye had earlier voted.

Mr Femi Atoyebi of Punch, Tony Akowe The Nationas well as Femi Ojo, Kola Oladapo, David Bello, Dami Oyaleke and Tobi Kush of Splash FMand Lagelu FM stations were trapped in the violence that ensued.

Thugs numbering about 10 invaded the polling unit in two Hilux vans and a Honda Civic car, shooting into the air and targeting the ballot boxes.

See also  NWC moves to resolve PDP SW Crisis ahead of April 10 Congress

The ballot boxes were eventually taken away, while some boys in the community chased the vehicles with no success.

A young man, simply identified as Dami, who just left a local eatery and was passing through the polling unit was shot in the leg and was subsequently rushed to the hospital.

Enraged by the action of the thugs, youths in the community blocked roads leading to the area with tyres, which they set on fire.

See also  Oyo Police Arrest 3 Micra Drivers for Allegedly Killing Officer in Ibadan

When eventually the journalists made their way out of the community, the angry youths shifted attention to the journalists, damaging one of their vehicles in the process.


About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment