New Oyo Police Commissioner, Ayinde Hamzat Takes Over from Adebowale Williams

Adebola Ayinde Hamzat has been appointed as the new commissioner of police in Oyo State, replacing Adebowale Williams. Williams was recently promoted to assistant inspector general of police and has assumed duty at the Zone 7 headquarters in Abuja.

The appointment was announced in an approval issued by the Police Service Commission. Other newly appointed state commissioners of police include Godwin Aghaulor for Borno State Command, Adelesi E. Oluwarotimi for Kwara State Command, Augustina Ogbodo for Ebonyi State Command, and Samuel Titus Musa for Kebbi State Command, among others.

The Police Service Commission commended the acting Inspector General of Police, Kayode Egbetokun, for adhering to its latest Policy on gender sensitivity. However, the commission expects the acting IGP to include more officers from the North East and South East geopolitical zones in his future proposals, as these zones have not yet met the benchmark of 15 percent representation set at the last Plenary Meeting.


About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment