Ogbomosho PDP Adopts Makinde for Second Term

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Ogbomoso zone, has reaffirmed their decision to adopt Governor ‘Seyi Makinde for a second term in office, declaring that the governor has solidly positioned Ogbomoso’s economy on the global pedestal.

Stakeholders of the PDP, made public a twelve-point communique in the aftermath of their consultative assembly held on February 13, at the Lagbami Osekun Hall of the Ogbomoso South Local Government Secretariat, Arowomole, admitting the tenacity with which Governor Makinde secured the sole ownership of the Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH), Ogbomoso and the huge financial commitments he is adding to stand by his decision.

The communique, which was signed by 10 stakeholders from the five local government areas of the Ogbomoso zone, commended the decision of the Makinde-led government to pay off N8 billion to resolve LAUTECH’s ownership tussle as well as to turn the university into a conventional institution consisting of Faculties such as Law, Education, Humanities and Social Sciences.

Other projects noted in the communique are; the Light-Up Oyo State phase 2, construction of Under G LAUTECH road, the remodelling of Soun Stadium, siting of Centre of Excellence on Energy Innovation in LAUTECH; construction of 50 Primary Healthcare centres across the 50 electoral Wards, and the construction of the 76km Iseyin/Ogbomoso road.

It also admitted that the Governor has remained supportive and respectful of the party’s structures at different levels, as the party remains the biggest in Ogbomoso zone since 2019, with a continual recipient of defectors from ZLP, ADC, ADP and APC.

READ  ‪Abiola Ajimobi Allegedly Hospitalized in Lagos After Testing Positive For Coronavirus‬

The stakeholders also commended the appointing of Ogbomoso indigenes to key positions in the current regime which include the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice; the Commissioner for Education; Commissioner for Works (until recently); Directors General of OYSIPA; OYSIA; Executive Chairman of BCOS; members of Boards, Parastatals and Commissions and the media unit of his office.

Meanwhile, they applauded the strong will displayed by Governor Makinde in the face of recent security threats in the state and hailed the security architecture put in place in the wake of the Ibarapa/Oke-Ogun and Sasa crisis, the regular payment of salaries and pensions to different levels of workers despite the COVID-19 pandemic that has ravaged national and global economy, among other notable achivements.

The communique listed some of those who attended the meetings as including the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Prof. Oyelowo Oyewo; Commissioner Education, Barr. Olasunkanmi Olaleye; Majority Leader of Oyo State House of Assembly, Hon. Sanjo Adedoyin, Director General of OYSIPA, Hon Segun Ogunwuyi; Executive Chairman of BCOS, Prince Dotun Oyelade.
READ  Olujimi PDP Faction Dissociates From Fayose, Supports Makinde’s S’West Leadership

Also in attendance were former Deputy Chief of Staff, Alhaji Razak Gbadegesin, 12 chairmen of Ogbomoso councils and LCDA chairpersons; Ward Chairmen of the party in the 50 wards of Ogbomoso; the State Organising Secretary, Hon. Taiwo Alagbe; PDP Chairmen in all local governments of Ogbomoso zone; the Chief Press Secretary to Governor Makinde, Mr.Taiwo Adisa; the Chief of Staff to the Speaker of Oyo State House of Assembly, Hon. Leke Gabriel; Commissioner &Board member of SUBEB, Hon. Folashade Ajala; Commissioner at the Local Government Service Commission, Hon John Adisa Oke, among others.

Those who signed the communique include member, Governor’s Advisory Council and former Deputy Chief of Staff, Alhaji Rasak Gbadegesin Kareem; Chairman, PDP, Ogbomoso North LG for Ogbomoso North Local Government, Hon. George Ogunlade; DG, OYSIPPA, Hon Olusegun Ebenezer Ogunwuyi State Organising Secretary of the PDP for Ogbomoso South, Hon. Taiwo Alagbe, and Former Commissioner for Finance.; Pa Bayo Bamkole

Other signatories were member, OYHMB and former member Oyo State House of Assembly for Oriire Local Government, Hon. Ezekiel Oyedepo; Commissioner for Education, Hon. Banji Folaranmi; Former member of the National Assembly for Surulere, Barrister Olasunkanmi Olaleye; Caretaker Chairman, Ogo Oluwa Local Government, Hon Seun Ojo; and Hon. Mathew Adegboyega Abioye.

About the author



Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment