Oyo APC Crisis: Oke Moves to Submit Separate List to National Secretariat, Akala Asks Party to Deal with Him

Drama continues in the Oyo state chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) over membership of the state executive committee of the party as Chief Adebayo Alao-Akala has reported Akin Oke, outgoing chairman of the All Progressives Congress, APC to the national headquarters of the party, alleging him of fueling the crisis bedevilling the party in the state.

Akala, who made this known after the harmonisation meeting of the party at his Bodija residence, asked the party to deal with Hon. Chief Akin Oke, who incidentally is from his Ogbomoso North local government area accordingly.

It was gathered that two different meetings were held today, at two different venues, over the issue of harmonisation of the list of excos.

See also  Igboho to Spend Six More Months in Benin Republic Prison

While a meeting convened by Chairman, Oyo APC Elders’ Council, Chief Adebayo Alao-Akala held at the Bodija residence of the former governor, another meeting convened by Caretaker Chairman of the party, Chief Akin Oke held at the state party office, Ibadan.

Akala insisted that Oke and other persons have no right whatsoever, to change the list of winners of the APC congress which took place the penultimate week.

Meanwhile, the chairman of the appeal panel, Barr. Sam Ogboku as well as chairman of the congress, Gambo Lawan who were in attendance as stakeholders, affirmed the congress results.

Ogboku, who briefed journalists after the meeting, said he has come to monitor and observe proceedings, adding that his committee has no right to change the list of winners of the congress.

See also  Late Yinka Odumakin's Wife Gives Birth to Twins Six Months After Husband’s Death

He added, “Anybody who has any grievances can come forward to us. But as at now, we have not received any petition.”

Recall, the harmonisation list meeting is coming after disagreements arose among party members over the congress that held on October 30.

At the Akala-led meeting were: former deputy governor, Iyiola Oladokun, Chief Samuel Adekola, Pa Elegbede Sunday, members of the Elders’ Advisory Council which has Engr. Idris Adeoye, Chief (Mrs.) Yinka Adebayo, Hon. Asimiyu Alarape, Hon. Isiaka Kazeem, Hon. Olawumi Oladeji, Hon. Jacob Bamgboye, Chief Wale Ohu, Mrs. Monisola Tegbe, Alhaji Kamorudeen Ajisafe, Chief M. K. Laoye and Chief Mufu Adisa.

See also  Oyo Assembly Correspondents Condole Speaker, Ogundoyin Over Mum’s Death

Among resolutions reached at the Alao-Akala led meeting were that the October 30, 2021 state congress of the party, followed the zoning template approved on Monday, October 11, 2021, by the leaders of the party.

A motion for the adoption of the resolution of the meeting was subsequently moved by Minority Leader of the Oyo Assembly, Honourable Asimiyu Alarape, seconded by Pa Samuel Adekola to the effect that the list of excos that emerged at the state congress held on October 30, 2021 stands, and is to be submitted to the national secretariat of the party.


About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment