State Congress: Oyo APC Ready to Seize Power in 2023 – Stakeholders

In a bid to unite and consolidate the party’s structure ahead of the 2023 general elections, the Oyo state wing of the All Progressives Congress in Oyo State has announced its decision to conduct transparent, free and fair elections at the forthcoming Ward, Local Government, and State Congresses.

The decision to conduct an open congress was disclosed at the Stakeholders meeting chaired by the State Party Chairman, Chief Akin Oke, and coordinated by the Chairman of the State Elders Committee and former Governor of Oyo State, Chief Adebayo Alao Akala held at Lafia Hotel in Ibadan the State capital.

Akala assured members that the party’s chances of assuming power in 2023 are brightening by the day, based on the rate of mass defections to the APC in the State, coupled with the noticeable failure of the present PDP-led administration of the state.

The forum stressed the necessity of conducting successful ward congresses in Oyo State, which will serve as a harbinger of acceptable local government and state congresses.

Leaders and members of the party were ordered to proceed to their respective Wards to mobilize for successful ward congresses at a well-attended meeting at the Lafia hotel in Ibadan this morning, Monday, July 6, 2021.

Several key stakeholders and members of the party in attendance openly supported the political strategy of grassroots engagement from the ward level up to the Local Government and State level to ensure fairness, openness, and transparency, ensuring the rise of the most acceptable candidate for any democratically elective position the party will eventually pitch in the upcoming congresses.

The party leadership consequently affirmed the benefit of the Party’s strength and the caliber of the strong stakeholders in ensuring uniformity and synergy, which will ensure eventual overall success at all elective positions and the takeover of Agodi Government House in 2023.

In attendance at the Stakeholders meeting tagged “Alafia Meeting” were Chief Akin Oke, Otunba Adebayo ALAO Akala, H.E Iyiola Oladokun, H.E Otunba Moses Alake, Pa Timothy Jolaoso, Prof Taoheed Adedoja, former minister of sports and Special duties, Dr. Isiaka Kolawole, Chief Mrs. Yinka Adebayo, Engr Idris Adeoye (all members of the Party Elders Council), Chief Sunday Dare, Minister of Youths and Sports, Hon. Olubunmi Odebunmi (Bunvic)Hon Hakeem Adeyemi, Sen Fatai Buhari.

Prof Adeolu Akande, Chairman National Communication Commission, Alhaji Fatai Ibikunle, Chairman National Lotteries Commission, Mr. Ajao Jacobs, Sen Femi Lanleyin, Sen Ayo Adeseun, Sen Soji Akanbi, all former distinguished Senators, Hon Dapo Lam Adesina, Hon Saheed Akinade Fijabi, Hon Bosun Oladele, Hon Folake Osinnowo Olunloyo, all former members of House of Representatives, Hon Kehinde Subair, Hon Segun Ajanaku, Hon Murphy Adigun, Hon Sakirudeen Fajinmi among several former Members of Oyo State House of Assembly, Hon Asimiyu Niran Alarape former Speaker and present member of Oyo State House of Assembly, Hon Wumi Oladeji Hon Seyi Adisa members of the Oyo State House of Assembly, Chief Bayo Adelabu former Gubernatorial candidate of APC Oyo State in 2019 Chief Niyi Akintola SAN, Engr Joseph Dr. Olusola Aýandele, gubernatorial aspirants during the last elections. Prof Soji Adejumo, Chief Adebayo Shittu former Minister of Communication.
Others include Hon Femi Egbedeyi, Hon Mojeed Olaoya State APC Party Secretary, Alhaji Lekan Alli former SSG, Dr. Gbade Ojo, Alhaji Yinus Akintunde, Chief Lowo Obisesan, Prince Gbade Sanda, Hon Bimbo Kolade, Bimbo Adekanmbi, Hon Asusu, Nureni Adisa, among former Commissioners and political appointees, Alh Abass Alesinloye former ALGON Chairman.

Notable Party leaders among them Elder Kunle Sanda, Elder Laoye, Ałhaji Olaide Abas, Comrade Moshood Erubami, Chief Lekan Alli! Alhaji Bashir Alli, Alhaji Muili Adewolu Oluokun, Alhaji Jelili Agboola, Chief (Mrs) Ayoka Lawani, Mrs. Mabel Williams State Woman Leader, Hon Ajibola Areokuta State Youth leader, Alhaji Lamolo, and other members of the Party-State Executive.

Several notable grassroots politicians and notable individuals attended the meeting, including Mr. Laide Abass, Bimbo Adepoju, Hon Dipo Fawole, Kunle Olatunji, Wale Sadare, Demola Solalu, Ambali Abiodun, Taiwo Ige, Akogun Akeem Olatunji, Chief Owu, Chief Akinade Fijabi, Chief Taofeek Adegboyega Balogun.

See also  US Consulate to Train 100 Oyo Teachers on 21st Century Teaching Methods

About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment