News

BREAKING: OYSIEC Schedules LG Election For May 15, Releases Full Timetable



The Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC) has scheduled the local government elections in all 33 local government Council areas for May 15th, 2021


The Commission made this known in a statement signed on Monday, by its Chairman, Aare Isiaka Abiola Olagunju SAN

The details of the election timetable below:

NOTICE AND TIME TABLE OF 2021 ELECTIONS INTO THIRTY-THREE (33) LOCAL GOVERNMENT COUNCILS IN OYO STATE ON SATURDAY, 15th MAY, 2021 BETWEEN 8:00 a.m. AND 3.00pm.

DATE & ACTIVITY

1. Monday, 15th February 2021
(a) Publication of notice of Election
(b) Release of Election Time Table
(c) Release of Election Guidelines


2. Wednesday, 17th February -Friday, 14th May 2021
(a) Commencement of Political Activities

(b) Commencement and end of Campaigns by Political Parties

3. Monday, 22nd February – Wednesday, 10th March 2021.

Conduct of Party Primaries by Political Parties and observation of Primaries by the Commission

4. Friday 12th March- Friday 19th March 2021 –
Display of Voters register
Collection of Personal Data Forms for candidates by Political Parties


5.Monday 22nd March –Friday 26th March 2021
Submission of Personal Data Forms for candidates by Political Parties

6. Saturday 27th March -6th April 2021
Verification/Screening of Councillorship Candidates

7. Monday 5th April –Tuesday 6th April 2021
Verification/Screening of Chairmanship candidates

8. Wednesday, 7th April 2021
Delivery of list of qualified candidates to political parties by OYSIEC

9. Friday 9th April –Sunday 11th April 2021
Appeals/Substitution of un-cleared candidates

10. Wednesday, 14th –Friday 16th April 2021
Screening of substituted candidates by OYSIEC

11. Tuesday 20th April – Friday 30th April 2021
Collection of Nomination Forms by all cleared candidates

12. Wednesday, 5th May – Thursday 6th May 2021
Submission of nomination Forms by all Cleared candidates by political parties

13. Friday, 7th May 2021
Publication of names of qualified candidates

14. Monday 10th May –Friday 14th May 2021
a Submission of names and addresses of Parties’ agents to the Commission
b Publication of Notice of Polls

15. Friday, 14th May 2021
End of Electioneering campaign (midnight)

16. Saturday, 15th May 2021
ELECTION DAY (8:00 A.M – 3:00 P. M.)

17. Saturday, 22nd May 2021
RUNOFF/RE-RUN ELECTION (IF ANY)

In conclusion, stakeholders are hereby enjoined to give their support and cooperation to the Commission to organize and conduct a free, fair, credible and transparent local government councils elections in Oyo State.

Dated 12th Day of February 2021

Aare Isiaka Abiola Olagunju SAN
Chairman
Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission
(OYSIEC), Ibadan

See also  Gov Makinde Approves Friday As Public Holiday In Oyo State

About the author

OyoAffairs

Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment