Ibadan Chieftaincy Title not for Sale – Olubadan-in-Council reveals

The Olubadan-in-Council today disclosed the conditions to be met by aspiring chiefs, who wish to hold a title in Ibadan land.

They said any aspiring Baale, Mogaji and Jagun in Ibadan land must pass an integrity test and possess record of past contributions to the ancient city, before their appointment can be ratified.

The council resolved to publish the criteria after a meeting at the Alarere residence of the Olubadan-designate, Dr. Lekan Balogun.

Briefing journalists after the meeting, Otun Balogun of Ibadan land, High Chief Tajudeen Ajibola said the decision was in tandem with the policy of the new Olubadan that Ibadan chieftaincy titles would not be for sale during his reign.

See also  Akande-Sadipe Visits Itunu's Parent, Vows to Unravel Circumstances of Death

Ajibola explained that to drive home the point, every aspiring Baale, Mogaji or Jagun would be screened by members of the Olubadan-in-Council, before their appointment can be ratified.

Other issues addressed at the meeting, according to the Otun Balogun, were the coronation ceremony holding next week and the ensuing promotion of High Chiefs in the Olubadan line, occasioned by the elevation of Otun Olubadan (Balogun) to the Olubadan stool.

See also  Subsidy: Makinde Approves Wage Award for Workers, Pensioners

He said that the meeting, at the instance of the new Olubadan expanded the coronation committee, with the nomination of High Chiefs Lateef Adebimpe, Olubunmi Isioye, Abiodun Kola-Daisi and Hamidu Ajibade as Osi Balogun, Ekerin Balogun, Ekerin Olubadan and Ekarun Olubadan respectively.

The Oniroko of Iroko, Ismaila Abioye and Baale Ajia Olorungbuji, Oladepo Suleiman, were also nominated as new members of the coronation committee.

See also  I will Make appointments Based on merit - Makinde

It was gathered that their names would be sent to the state government as new members of the committee, Ajibola said.

In attendance at the meeting were Balogun of Ibadan land, High Chief Owolabi Olakulehin; Osi Balogun, High Chief Lateef Gbadamosi Adebimpe; Ashipa Balogun, High Chief Kola Adegbola; and Ekerin Balogun, High Chief Olubunmi Isioye.

Others were Ashipa Olubadan, High Chief Eddy Oyewole; Ekerin Olubadan, High Chief Abiodun Kola-Daisi; and Ekarun Olubadan, High Chief Hamidu Ajibade.


About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment