LG POLL: OYSIEC to Refund Nomination Fees to Candidates

… Says May 22, Election date remains intact

In a statement issued and signed by the Electoral Commissioner in charge of Voter Education, Prince Afeez Adeniyi, and made available to journalists, the Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission ( OYSIEC ), has released the names of screened and qualified Chairmanship and Councillorship Candidates of the 17 political parties who have signaled their intent to participate in the election slated for May 22, 2021.

The commission has also expressed its readiness to refund the sum of #50,000 for Councillorship candidates and #250,000 for Chairmanship candidates as stated on the Time -Table and guidelines released for local government council elections coming up in the state. Additionally, the commission will refund the money of those candidates that have paid before this pronouncement.

According to the statement: “The Commission wishes to seize this opportunity to inform the general public and especially political parties that our attention had just been drawn to the order of Oyo State High Court in Suit No.I/177/2004: NATIONAL CONSCIENCE PARTY V. OYO STATE INDEPENDENT ELECTORAL COMMISSION AND ANOR delivered on 18th March 2004 to the effect that sections 10 (b) (e) and (f) of the State Independent Electoral Commission Law of Oyo State contravene sections 7 (4), 106 and 107 of the Constitution of Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999(as amended).”

“In the circumstance, the commission hereby cancels payment of nomination fees of #50,000 for Councillorship candidates and #250,000 for Chairmanship candidates (as stated on Time Table and Guidelines for the Election) since the Constitution of Federal Republic takes precedence over any law or bylaws.”

Prince Adeniyi enjoined all political parties participating in the elections to submit the names of their party agents in the polling units, wards, collation centers, and Local Government Collation Centers to OYSIEC offices in the 33 local government councils of Oyo State on or before the close of work on Tuesday, 19th May 2021 for that further action can be taken by the commission.

He reaffirmed that elections will take place in the 33 constitutionally recognized local governments in the state from 8am to 3pm, adding that there shall be restrictions on human and vehicular movements for the duration of the election.

The Commission, however, enjoined all eligible voters to turn out en masse on the date of election and assured them that their votes will count, adding that May 22, 2021, announced by the commission as the election date remains valid.

See also  Covid-19: Oyo Govt to Purchase AstraZeneca Covid Vaccine for Citizens

About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment