Olubadan Charges Newly-Elevated Chiefs to Serve Ibadan Land Dutifully

Sequel to the elevation of six senior chiefs in the Ibadan Traditional Council System yesterday, the Olubadan of Ibadanland, Oba (Dr) Lekan Balogun Alli Okunmade ll, has charged the newly-promoted chiefs to see their elevations as a call for additional responsibilities.

Oba Balogun gave this charge on Friday, at the Aliiwo Dynasty Palace where he performed his first traditional duty after his coronation, exactly two weeks ago.

The promotion exercise, involving six senior chiefs and three other chiefs, came into being to fill the existing vacancies in the Ibadan Chieftaincy Traditional System.

The Olubadan prayed for the elevated chiefs to successfully climb the traditional ladder to the top and reign over Ibadan at God’s appointed time.

See also  INVASION: Yoruba Nation Advocate, Sunday Igboho Distances Self, Asks Makinde To Investigate

He charged them to continue to justify the confidence reposed in them by Ibadan people on whose behalf they hold in trust their titles.

“I charge you all to see your elevated positions and the future ones as call to Ibadan duty in particular and humanity in general. It calls for commitment, loyalty and sacrifice.

“I pray that our ancestors will back you and grant you the enablement to meet up with the demand of your respective titles,” Olubadan stated.

See also  UCH Reverses Proposed N1000 Utility Bill to be Paid by Patients, Promises Adequate Healthcare Delivery

Meanwhile, the nine elevated chiefs from the Balogun line received the traditional ‘Akoko leaves’ as the compulsory rite from the ‘Oluwo Afobaje’ of Ibadanland, Alhaji Wahab Idowu Popoola Mosadogun.

Among the Senior Chiefs were; Akeem Bolaji Adewoyin – (Abese), Barrister Sharafadeen Abiodun Alli – (Maye), Adegboyega Adeniran – (Ekefa), Taiwo Anthony Oyekan – (Agbaakin), Raufu Eleruwere – (Aare Alasa) and Emiola Onideure – (Ikolaba).

In the chiefs category were Barrister Tirimisiyu Arowolo Obisesan – (Asaju), Wasiu Delodun Ajimobi – (Ayingun) and Mikail Gboyega Orogun Modi – (Aare-Ago).

See also  Makinde Reappoints Adefope as DG Bureau of Public Procurement

The Osi Olubadan and former governor of Oyo state, High Chief Rashidi Ladoja, was however absent at the elevation ceremony, due to an undisclosed reason.

Other members of the Olubadan-in-Council, including High Chiefs Owolabi Olakulehin – (Balogun), Tajudeen Ajibola – (Otun Balogun), Lateef Adebimpe – (Osi-Balogun) and Kola – Adegbola (Ashipa Balogun), were in attendance.

Present from the Otun line were High Chiefs Eddy Oyewole – (Ashipa Olubadan), Biodun Kola-Daisi – (Ekerin Olubadan) and Hamidu Ajibade – (Ekarun Olubadan).


About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment