Press Week: Oyo NUJIC Honours Deputy Speaker, Commissioner, Others With Awards of Excellence

The Deputy Speaker, Hon Muhammad Fadeyi, the Commissioner for Information, Dr Wasiu Olatunbosun, and the Executive Chairman of the Oyo State Universal Basic Education Board, Dr Nureni Adeniran have all received awards of excellence from the Nigeria Union of Journalists, Information Chapel, NUJIC, under the leadership of Comrade Ismail Fasasi.

Also honoured were, Chief Press Secretary, Mr Taiwo Adisa, Special Assistant to the Governor on New Media, Mr Tunde Momoh, Accountant–General of Oyo State, Alhaji Abdul Gaffar Bello, and Executive Secretary, Oyo State Health Insurance Agency (OYSHIA), Dr Sola Akande for their performance and contribution towards journalism practice in the state.

The awardees were presented with awards and certificates of distinction on Thursday during the NUJIC 2022 Press Week, which took place at the House of Chiefs Secretariat in Agodi, Ibadan.

In his welcome remarks, the Chairman Nigeria Union of Journalists, Information Chapel, NUJIC, Comrade Ismail Fasasi said that all the honourees were carefully chosen, noting that they are the personalities who have distinguished themselves in their chosen career.

See also  Alaafin, Osun Monarch Caution Against Inciting Speeches

He explained that his administration will continue to prioritise the welfare of its members by providing regular training workshops and capacity-building programmes.

He implored all members to continue to support his administration as their contributions would go a long way in repositioning NUJIC.

Fasasi called on the journalists to be more professional and refrain from fake news, unfounded news, defamatory news, and scandalous news, urging them to always verify the information before reporting and not to report issues that will cause violence before, during and after the election.

He said; “When I and my executive members took over the mantle of leadership in October last year, we pledged that our administration will rest on four major programmes which include restoration of the vibrancy that has been the pride of our chapel; improved welfare packages for members; capacity building and training for members as well as promotion of collective responsibility, integrity and accountability.

See also  Alaafin Stool: Oyomesi Vows to Continue Selection Process, Says Agunloye Family is Next Ruling House

“I am glad to inform our guests that all these promises have been kept since our first day in office. Also, today’s event is a testimony to this. A training workshop has been organised and welfare packages have been provided for all members of this union.

“Today’s event, which includes the presentation of awards of excellence to some eminent personalities, is in recognition of the honourees’ immense contributions to our dear state and humanity in general.

“Also, certificates of recognition will be awarded to some of our past leaders at the chapel that has contributed to the upliftment of our great union”, he added.

Speaking on behalf of the State Chairman, Demola Babalola, immediate Vice-Chairman of the NUJ State Council, Comrade Seye Ojo, expressed appreciation to the attendees and insisted that the new administration in the state will benefit the journalism community more broadly.

He added that within its first 100 days, the State NUJ Press Centre would have received its asphaltic tarring and solar power installation.

See also  JUST IN: Former Oyo Military Administrator, Tunji Olurin Dies at 77

Delivering the keynote lecture titled: ‘The role of Media as Watchdog and gatekeeping in the general elections’ presented by Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Ajayi Crowther University, Oyo Prof. Olumuyiwa Popoola ably represented by a senior lecturer, Department of Communications and Media, Dr Matthew Oni emphasised the functions journalists perform in the society.

He also highlighted the need to embrace truth in their coverage, especially as the 2023 general elections approach as never to strengthen confusion in the country.

In the remarks of the awardees, they dedicated the award to the Executive Governor of Oyo State for working tirelessly to make life comfortable for the citizens of Oyo State.

Government officials, politicians, technocrats, educators, and traditional leaders, including the Olubadan of Ibadanland, Mogaji Okito, Oloye Adesina Olatunji Aresa, P.A. Olubadan of Ibadanland, Chief Akeem Rufai, and a number of others, attended the ceremony.


About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment