Senate Confirms Former Tech-U VC, Agboke, 17 Others as REC

The Senate has on Wednesday confirmed Ayobami Salami, a Professor and pioneer Vice-chancellor of the Oyo State owned First Technical University, Tech-U, Ibadan as resident electoral commisioner.

Mutiu Agboke, a lawyer and doctor of philosophy, who was a former REC in Oyo, was also confirmed.

Though the duo have not been assigned to any state, they were confirmed alongside 17 others whose names were sent by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The nominees who were confirmed include Ibrahim Abdullahi (Adamawa); Obo Effanga (Cross River); Umar Ibrahim (Taraba); Samuel Egwu (Kogi), Onyeka Ugochi (Imo) and Muhammad Bashir (Sokoto).

See also  Again National Grid Collapses, 17th Time in 2022

Others are Zango Abdu (Katsina); Queen Agwu (Ebonyi), Agundu Tersoo (Benue); Yomere Oritsemlebi (Delta); Yahaya Ibrahim, (Kaduna); Nura Ali (Kano); Agu Uchenna (Enugu); Ahmed Garki (FCT); Hudu Yunusa (Bauchi); Uzochukwu Chijioke, (Anambra) and Mohammed Nura (Yobe).

The Senate Committee on the Independent National Electoral Commission chaired by Senator Kabiru Gaya (APC Kano South) had, last week, screened the nominees behind closed doors.

See also  Third Anniversary: Makinde Shares Scorecard, Says Govt's Policies Yielding Desired Results

Presenting his report to the Senate, Gaya said, “To determine their suitability for the positions which they were nominated, nominees were asked questions that bothered mostly on partisanship, membership of political parties, and how they hoped to improve the electoral process if and when their nominations for appointments are confirmed.”

According to Gaya, the nominees, assured the committee of their non-partisanship, non-membership of any political party, and promised to discharge their responsibilities diligently according to the laid down laws.

See also  EndSARS: Governor Seyi Makinde Enjoins Protesters to Shun Violence

He said the committee found no merit in the petitions against four nominees that bordered on alleged membership of political parties, partisanship, compromise and incompetence.

“The committee did due diligence on the petitions by listening to the defence of the nominees and carrying out a detailed examination of the petitions to determine the validity or otherwise of the allegations against the four nominees,” Gaya said.


About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

1 Comment

Click here to post a comment