Shina Peller Launches Football Club, Gifts Over N2m Cash to Unity Cup Winners

Honourable Shina Peller, representing Iseyin/Itesiwaju/Kajola/Iwajowa Federal Constituency on Tuesday rewarded winners of the different categories of 2022 Peller Unity Cup with cash prizes.

Peller has also launched a football club named Iseyin Rocks.

According to the initiator of the competition, the Unity Cup was aimed at promoting unity and engaging the youths meaningfully as well as unearthing football talents from the grassroots in all the 10 local government areas in the Oke-Ogun axis of Oyo State.

The champions of the competition, Iseyin United, the runners up cashed out their winning prizes at the residence of the Lawmaker in Iseyin on Tuesday.

It would be recall that Iseyin United defeated Iseyin City 1-0 in the final forthnight ago at NYSC Orientation Camp, Iseyin.

Iseyin United were rewarded with seven hundred and fifty thousand naira while Iseyin City received five hundred thousand Naira as Itesiwaju Lions and Itesiwaju Rangers were gifted two hundred and fifty thousand naira and hundred thousand naira respectively.

See also  Despite Injury, I’m Happy To Have Made History In Tokyo — Enoch Adegoke

Most Valuable Player of the competition, Adefabi Afeez of Iseyin United received two hundred and fifty thousand naira for his outstanding performance, courtesy of Nairabet.

Honourable Peller also announced that Adefabi has also been named Nairabet Ambassador.

Speaking at the presentation, Peller disclosed that he will not relent in promoting sports and engaging the youths of Oke-Ogun, Oyo State and Nigeria meaningfully.

The elated businessman, congratulated the winning teams, all participating teams, Oyo FA, Referees and coaches for outstanding organisation of the successful competition.

His words; “Today, I want to thank the Oyo State Football Association, Football Coaches Association, my able local organising committee and all players who participated in this year edition.

“I specially thank everyone who contributed in one way or another to the success of the competition; today is a joyous day for us, we want to appreciate the winning team, the second, third and also the fourth position.

“Also, apart from the fact that we supported all team with jerseys, boots, and many other materials, we would also give out token to all twenty teams that took part. This year’s edition is a success and we can all see it.

See also  Qatar 2022: Two Ibadan-based Sportscasters Get Appointment as Indigenous Match Commentators

“For me , I appreciate success more than money because for you to be successful in life, you have be focused, determined, and consider many factors in life, so I appreciate everyone for this feat.

“There were two important reasons why I decided to join politics. The first is the youths constituency of this country; it doesn’t matter may be it is Oke Ogun, Oyo State or Zamafara or Kano; in as much as you are a Nigerian youth, I have the obligation to make life better for you because every generation should be a bridge of hope for the generation coming behind.

“My second reason is because of my root, (Oke Ogun). Oke Ogun has been marginalised, it must be recognised and get the right support, and enabling environment for them to rub shoulders with other zones in the world. Today, we will be lunching our football club in Oke Ogun which is our thing and our intention is to engage our youths. We want something that is continuous and sustainability and we must also create a business development into it”, he concluded.

See also  AITEO CUP: Oyo North PDP Senatorial Candidate, Wolekanle Donates N200,000 to Support Saki United

Below is the comprehensive list for the PELLER UNITY CUP SEASON II CASH PRIZES

• Winner: Iseyin United [#750,000.00]• Second: Iseyin City [#500,000.00]• Third: Itesiwaju Lions [250,000.00]• Fourth: Itesiwaju Rangers [100,000.00]• Most Valuable Player: Adefabi Azeez (Iseyin United)
He was decorated and announced as Nairabet Ambassador with [#250,000.00] courtesy of Nairabet
• Highest Goal Scorer: Aloshe Taofeeq (Itesiwaju Rangers) [#50,000.00]• Best Behaved Team: Olorunsogo Boys [100,000.00]• Best Goalkeeper: Olaitan Kamorudeen (Iseyin United) [50,000.00]• Man Of The Match: Moyosore Adesola (Iseyin City) [50,000.00]• Best Goal of the Tournament: Fidudusola Olaitan (Iseyin City) [50,000.00]• Most Entertaining Team (Saki West Rovers) [100,000.00]


About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment