Shooting Stars Make Olubadan Cup History

After emerging defending champions of the Dapo Abiodun Pre-season tournament in Ijebh-Ode, the Oluyole Warriors trashed dogged Ogbomoso United 2-0 in the final, which was played out at the Olubadan Stadium.

The central defenders were the stars that sealed the win, Abbey Benson and Elum Henry were all the Ibadan soccer powerhouse needed to snatch the trophy, which made them become the first team in the chronology of history to pull off such a feat.

The prolific goal scorer Benson, who found the back of the net twice in the Dapo Abiodun Preseason games, rose to the occasion again; converting a well taken free-kick midway into the first half. while Elum pulled off an exceptional header from a pull out to double the Stars’ lead three minutes into the second half.

The Oluyole Warriors were champions in 2004 and 2006.

The Ogbomoso based side was grateful to their goalkeeper, who saved them from sinking into more despair with his divine saves, against a tactical and goal thirsty 3SC.

See also  3SC Thrash Plateau United 2-1 in NPFL Opener

About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment