SW PDP Faction Nominates Olafeso as Zonal Chairman

In preparation for the Zonal Congress of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), a South-West Caucus of the party has affirmed the return of the Dr. Eddy Olafeso led Zonal Exco, calling on delegates from the zone to elect them.

Rising from its meeting in Lagos today (Wednesday), the Caucus, in a Communique signed by the Zonal Secretary, Hon. Daisi Akintan, Chairmen of Lagos, Osun, Ogun and Ekiti States, Engr Adedeji Doherty, Hon Sunday Bisi, Dr Sikirulai Ogundele and Otunba Bisi Kolawole respectively, called on the Oyo State Governor, Engr Seyi Makinde to desist from causing division in the party by creating parallel Excos in some States.

It would be recalled that the Governor Seyi Makinde’s camp had earlier announced a former Deputy Governor of the state, Ambassador Taofeek Arapaja as its zonal chairman.

See also  NLC Leaders vs Seyi Makinde — A battle of egos by Seye Eyitayo

But the communique read that as members of the Zonal Caucus of the Party in the South West, and pursuant to Section 27(5) of the party’s constitution as amended in 2017, they were gathered to deliberate on the fortunes of the Party and particularly with emphasis to place it on sound footing in the zone.

The members decided to stand by the resolutions of the Ibadan meeting of 12th March 2020, affirming the return of Dr. Eddy Olafeso as Zonal Chairman, Rev. Bunmi Jenyo as Zonal Secretary, among others, while believing that the same should be practise of all party faithfuls.

See also  Open Letter to Oyo State Governor by James Ajibola

They therefore called on the Oyo State Governor, Engr Seyi Makinde to stop acting like Governor-General of the South-West Zone and desist from causing division in the party by setting up parallel State Excos in some States.

The communique however listed people have been approved as candidates for election at the Zonal Congress as: National Vice Chairman, Dr Eddy Olafeso; Zonal Secretary, Rev. Bunmi Jenyo; Zonal Organising Secretary, Hon Bakene Fasiu Adewale; Youth leader, Mr Femi Adetola; Women leader, Mrs Abimbola Lanre Balogun; Treasurer, Mr Oke Ojo Micheal; Auditor, Engr Balogun Kolawole Ayuba; Legal Adviser, Mr Dosu Babatunde; Zonal Publicity Secretary, Mr Ayo Fadaka; and Financial Secretary, Hon. Philip Olabode Aivoji.

See also  Ghost Workers Racketeering in Oyo State: A Call for Investigation by Lati Abayomi

Zonal Ex-officio are,Yeye Agnes Shobajo (Lagos), Fagbayigbo Adeola (Ondo), Adesina Adeboye Semiu (Ogun), Mrs Taiwo Abiola Mubo (Oyo) and Mr Akinade Jimoh (Osun).

While national Ex-officio members are; Mr Michael Okunlade (Oyo), Arowolo Oluwole Johnson (Ondo), Captain Tunji Shelle (Rtd) (Lagos), Hon Abayomi Nureni Tella (Ogun), Alabi George Ibitayo (Osun) and Mrs Monisola Omotosho (Ekiti).”


About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment