U.I Governing Council inaugurated in Abuja

The Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education, Arch. Sonny Echono recently represented the Minister of Education at the National Universities Commission (NUC) Abuja to inaugurate a new Governing Council at the University of Ibadan (U.I) and advised members of the council to ensure that their priority is to uphold the relevant university laws and guidelines

The Perm Sec also said that one of the challenges the Governing Council should tackle during their tenure should be the appointment of principal officers and making sure they avoid undue external influences in the process.

He further said that transparency, probity, and due process must be followed in the selection and appointment process to ensure that the best candidates are selected as principal officers

In his words: “We have seen deviations in the recent past in this regard fuelled by growing interest, external influences, including from political leaders, in the appointment of principal officials in our universities”

Still speaking on behalf of the Minister, he urged the Chairman, Governing Council of the University of Ibadan, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun along with other Council Chairmen present to ensure stability, continuity, and rebuild confidence and integrity in their various universities.

He stated: “As you are all aware, unnecessary conflicts can affect the smooth running of any institution. Clash of interests, values, actions or directions often ignite conflicts between Management and Governing Councils of tertiary institutions.”

He also took the opportunity to sound a note of warning: “The Ministry will not hesitate in recommending the dissolution of any Governing Council that is engulfed in persistent, unwarranted or self-inflicted crises.”

Chief John Odigie-Oyegun spoke on behalf of the other five Governing Council Chairmen and said they would do their best to reinvigorate Nigeria’s University system.

Members of the newly inaugurated Council for the University of Ibadan are Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, Chairman (South-South); Dr. Masud Kazaure (North West); Comrade Abba Yaro (North Central), Senator Abubakar Maikafi (North East); and Hon. Emeka Nwogbo (South East).

Also present were the Acting Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Adebola Babatunde Ekanola, Registrar, Mrs. Olubunmi Faluyi, and the Deputy Registrar (Council Affairs), Mr. David Oyejide.

About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment