Soun Appoints 36-Member Committee as Coronation Ceremony Set for December

The Soun of Ogbomoso, Ọba Ghandi Afọlabí Ọlaoye,Orumogege III, has officially inaugurated a Central Coronation Planning Committee (CCPC) consisting of 36 members to oversee his upcoming coronation rites. The committee was inaugurated via a zoom meeting on Friday, as stated by Chief Sunday Dare, the Chairman of the media and publicity sub-committee of the CCPC.

During the inauguration, the monarch expressed his gratitude to the committee members for accepting their roles and taking the time to attend the ceremony. He emphasized the importance of organizing and executing a program that would leave a lasting impact on the history of Ogbomoso land. The Soun of Ogbomoso also urged the committee members to work together harmoniously and foster mutual respect to ensure the success of the event.

Professor Adeshola Adepoju, the chairman of the CCPC, called upon all committee members to give their best efforts to ensure a successful coronation. He also appealed to the sons and daughters of Ogbomoso land, both at home and abroad, as well as friends of the town, to support the new traditional ruler in bringing further development to Ogbomoso. Adepoju emphasized that the development of Ogbomoso land is a collective responsibility that requires cooperation with His Imperial Majesty.

See also  Insecurity: Makinde Appeals for More Troops, Air Surveillance at Oyo Border Communities

“We are assuring Kabiyesi that we are going to set standards that people in the South West region of Nigeria will emulate. The development of Ogbomoso land is our collective responsibility, hence, we must all cooperate with His Imperial Majesty,” Adepoju stated. He further urged all committee members to work together without any infighting that could hinder progress.

See also  Infrastructure, Education Get Bigger Share as Makinde Presents N310bn 2023 Budget

The coronation ceremony is scheduled to take place in December 2023, with the specific date to be determined by the Oyo State Government. AVM Bolaji Adigun (Rtd) has been appointed as the co-chairman of the committee, while Rear Admiral Jacob Ajani (Rtd) will serve as the Secretary-General.


About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment