Aláàfin Stool: 84 Year Old Ladigbolu, 47 Others Shortlisted to Become New Monarch

Forty-eight (48) princes have been shortlisted to occupy the vacant throne of the Alaafin.

The throne became vacant following the departure of the former occupant, Oba Lamidi Adeyemi III.

The embattled 84-year old retired arch bishop of the Methodist Church of Nigeria, Prince Ayo Ladigbolu also made the list.

The names of the candidates are as follow:


  1. Abdul Rashidi Adewale GBADEGESIN
  2. Dr. Abidoye GBADEGESIN
  3. Abdrasak Adegoke GBADEGESIN
  4. Kabiru Adebayo GBADEGESIN
  5. Isiak Olatunde GBADEGESIN
  6. Basiru Adeniyi GBADEGESIN
  7. Monjeed GBADEGESIN
  8. Lukman Adelodun GBADEGESIN
  9. Babajide Aderoju GBADEGESIN
  10. Abdmonjeed Adekunle GBADEGESIN
See also  Family announces burial arrangements for late Oyo commissioner


  1. Ajibade Adebayo ADELADAN
  2. Tella Biliaminu KOLAWOLE
  3. Tiani Hammed ADEBAYO
  4. Salami Saheed BABATUNDE
  5. Ladigbolu Adewale ADEREMI
  6. Adekunle Mutahir ADEGBOYE
  7. Alh. Tesleem Oriade LADIGBOLU
  8. Adekunle Kamal ADEYEMI
  9. Adebisi Jeleel ADENIYI


  1. Oluokun Kasali AGUNLOYE
  2. Adekunle Gafar ADEBAYO
  3. Tella Meroof ADENIYI
  4. Owoade Wahab Folorunso ADEREMI
  5. Adewusi Mukaila OLANREWAJU
  6. Olaide Dauda OLADIMEJI
  7. Tella Adeniyi KAREEM
  8. Agunloye Adelayo ADEREMI
  9. Aderogba Idowu AGUNLOYE
  10. Morounranti Hakeem ALAYOAYO
  11. Gbadegesin Taofeek AGUNLOYE
  12. Remilekun Enitan ADENIYA
  13. Razak ALAYOAYO
  14. Akinade Abdul Rahman ALAYOAYO
See also  Alaafin of Oyo to be Buried by 4pm Today — Palace Source


  1. Archbishop Prince Lawrence Sanda Ayo LADIGBOLU
  2. Lukman Alabi Olugbenga LADIGBOLU
  3. Hakeem Abiodun Adeyanju Ayinde LADIGBOLU
  4. Ayobami Adewumi Sanda LADIGBOLU
  5. Amidu Abiodun LADIGBOLU
  6. Muideen Adekunle LADIGBOLU
  7. Kolade Tunde Saani LADIGBOLU
  8. Adegboyega Ibrahim LADIGBOLU
  9. Abdulquadri Opeyemi LADIGBOLU
  10. Ismaila Aderemi Belawu Adekunle LADIGBOLU
  11. Adebimpe Wasiu Abiodun LADIGBOLU
  12. Taofeek Adewumi LADIGBOLU
  13. Rasaki Kamorudeen Osuolale LADIGBOLU
See also  Police Warns Against Illegal Political Processions, Rallies in Oyo State


  1. Hakeem Babatunde Adetunji OWOADE
  2. Ibrahim Abiodun Olayiwola OWOADE

About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment