Aspirants Petition APC Election Appeal Committee, Seek Fresh Primary for Ibadan North West, South West Constituencies

Seven aggrieved aspirants contesting for Ibadan North-West/South-West Federal Constituencies in Oyo State under the aegis of the All Progressives Congress (APC), on Monday petitioned the party’s election appeal committee over the primary election, which was supposed to have been held on Friday, May 27, 2022 but was stalled due to unavailability of authentic delegates’ list.

The aspirants including — Mrs. Folake Olunloyo Oshinowo, Mogaji S.K. Ajadi, Rotimi Ajanaku, Temitope Oyewale, Biodun Ikumoguniyi, Kehinde Subair and Fashola Mutahir, have in a petition to the committee, insisted that no primary election took place at Lafia Hotel, Apata, saying that Saheed Akinlade Fijabi couldn’t have gone ahead to declare himself the winner of an election that didn’t take place.

The petition reads: “We the undersigned hereby collectively render our grievances about the primary election that was supposed to have taken place on Friday, May 27, 2022, at the Lafia Hotel, Apata as agreed by the Committee Chairman, Dr. Tayo Adewakun; Oyo APC Chairman, Isaac Omodewu and the two local council chairmen for the Ibadan North West/South-West Federal Constituency.

See also  Ajimobi Appointed APC Acting National Chairman Amidst His Poor Health

“The aspirants approached the electoral committee at Lafia Hotel and demanded the delegates’ list, which was produced but happened to have been partly typed, handwritten and mutilated.”

“It was also not in the format that the party representative from Abuja told us it would be, earlier at the meeting held at Premier Hotel on Friday morning.

“We were told that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) official will come with a delegates’ list that will have the commission’s stamp on it. The list is to be cross-checked with the list that will be given to the party chairman before the election takes place.

See also  JUST IN: Ladoja Absent as Olubadan-in-Council Endorses Lekan Balogun as Next Olubadan

“We asked to be shown the list on Friday at the meeting that was held in Premier Hotel but the INEC representative and the state party chairman denied the request.

“On getting to the Lafia venue for the primary election, the eight aspirants held a meeting and came to a unanimous decision not to go ahead with the primary if the delegates’ list has been tampered with and not as the party representative from Abuja advised it will be.

“When we got to the hall to meet with the electoral committee, we requested for the list and what we got were mutilated sheets with cancelled names and handwritten names on it.

See also  Elumelu, France Ambassador, First Bank CEO, Others to Attend as Makinde Flags Off Oyo Agribusiness Summit Tomorrow

“We were told the list was given to the committee by the two local government party chairmen. The INEC stamp was not on the list presented.

“While waiting for a new date to be given for the election, we found out on electronic media that one of the aspirants, Saheed Akinade Fijabi, has been declared the winner of a primary election that never took place”, it added.

The aspirants have therefore, urged the national headquarters of the APC to ensure that the authentic delegates’ list for the primary is produced, while expecting a new date to be fixed.

About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment