Professor Ekanola Emerges as New UI Acting VC

Professor Adebola Babatunde Ekanola has emerged as the acting Vice Chancellor of the University of Ibadan.

The Ayeye Ibadan-born Professor, who is from the Department of Philosophy, Faculty of Arts of the premier University was appointed by the Senate of the University after a voting process.

The appointment was made after a directive from the Ministry of Education, through the National Universities Commission directing the Senate of the university to appoint one of its own in acting capacity for the institution.

See also  World Teachers’ Day: Gov. Makinde Approves Absorption of 2,000 Teachers into Post-Primary Subsector

During the course of the meeting which was thoroughly guided by adherence to standard procedures, the Senate decided that the process would be by voting and not by concensus.

Sources revealed that it took about two hours of discussion for an aggrement to be reached by the Senate, after which a call for nominations and seconding of nominations was made.

Senate members nominated for the election included Professor Adebola Babatunde Ekanola (Current Deputy Vice Chancellor, Academic) and Professor Olanike Adeyemo (Deputy Vice Chancellor, Research Innovation and Strategic Partnerships).

See also  LAUTECH Students Pen Appreciation Message to Makinde, Say Institution Fortunate Under His Governance

Others included Professor A. Oluleye (former Dean, Fauclty of Technology)
Professor Adigun Agbaje (Former Deputy Vice Chancellor, Academic) and
Professor Gbemisola Oke (former Deputy Vice Chancellor, Academic).

According to speakers at the meeting, it was important that the Senate took a united decision with demonstrated transparency in order to guard the autonomy of the university and prevent interference from government and politicians.

See also  We Are Yet to Announce Cut Off Marks for 2022/2023 Academic Session — UI Registrar

Afterwards, members of Senate were duly accredited afresh, and voting took place through secret ballot.

Professor Ekanola scored 275 votes to emerge the winner; Professor Olanike Adeyemo (13 votes); Professor Oluleye (80 votes); Professor Agbaje (15 votes); and Professor Oke (14 votes), even as the Senate ratified the results and immediately adjourned.


About the author


Oyo Affairs is an independent news media with the main focus on Oyo state news, politics, current events, trending happenings within and around Oyo state, Nigeria

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment